Ben's Haiku

Sat, 10 Dec 2005

The Bride
From all directions,
red glows and bright white flashes
shine on the bride's smile.

written at the wedding of Brian and Erin Fife

05:55 | permalink

Mon, 05 Dec 2005

Snow Sneaks In
The evening was clear,
but a white blanket snuck in
over the city.

05:55 | permalink

Sat, 26 Nov 2005

Winter in New Hampshire
The clear and sharp cold
of the winter night. Dark sky,
the stars bursting forth.

05:55 | permalink

Thu, 24 Nov 2005

The gas station has
countless American flags
and very cheap gas.

the gas at this station is $1.99 per gallon,
which is low right now

05:55 | permalink

Thu, 03 Nov 2005

With deep crashing booms,
the fireworks shake the house
like bombs exploding.

written during the Diwali celebrations in Kisumu, Kenya

05:55 | permalink

Sun, 30 Oct 2005

The eyes of the crowd
are fierce, violent, and strange
during the riot.

written after the riot in Kisumu

04:55 | permalink

Sat, 29 Oct 2005

Dying Monkey
The monkey screeches
and its entrails glisten red
as it slowly dies.

04:55 | permalink

Mon, 17 Oct 2005

Atop the green tree,
a solitary leaf has
become pure yellow.

04:55 | permalink

Sat, 15 Oct 2005

Small Miracles
On a crowded street
I find a parking space with
time on the meter.

written after finding parking near
the C-Side-G in the middle of the day

04:55 | permalink

Thu, 13 Oct 2005

Just Shaven Chin
Cold refreshing air
touching my just shaven chin

04:57 | permalink

Wed, 12 Oct 2005

A stopped bus belches
thick dark solid smoke. It hangs
as the bus drives off.

04:55 | permalink

Tue, 11 Oct 2005

Art Museum
The heat and stale air
of hundreds milling about
looking at the art.

written after seeing the lovely but crowded
Ansel Adams exhibit at the MFA

04:55 | permalink

Sat, 08 Oct 2005

The geese stand still, or
walk slowly, flapping their wings
without taking off.

04:55 | permalink

Tue, 04 Oct 2005

The sharp stinging heat
of the disease injected
into my forearm.

written after receiving a yellow fever vaccine

04:55 | permalink

Mon, 03 Oct 2005

The panic in her voice--
hot and sharp--as she calls out
for anyone's help.

04:55 | permalink

Sat, 01 Oct 2005

Sunset XII
It's an explosion--
radiant color bursting
in all directions.

04:55 | permalink

Fri, 30 Sep 2005

Cleaning the Field
Ten people appear,
with brooms, reordering
the dirt on the field.

written after seeing the baselines
at Fenway Park raked between innings

04:57 | permalink

Tue, 27 Sep 2005

Ebbing Life
Its twitching has stopped,
and yet the moth I just crushed--
I can feel its life.

04:55 | permalink

Mon, 26 Sep 2005

Anger II
The wary drawn eyes
and mouth clenched in a grimace.
She's filled with anger.

04:57 | permalink

Sun, 25 Sep 2005

Bathroom Break
During the brief break,
the urinals flush without
rhythm or comment.

04:55 | permalink

Sun, 18 Sep 2005

The Big Dig
Long well-lit tunnels
winding under the city--
man-made and yet real.

04:55 | permalink

Sun, 11 Sep 2005

The Waves
The ocean's water
slips through the sand, as if it's
not solid at all.

04:55 | permalink

Sat, 03 Sep 2005

A Vision
She moves back and forth.
Lush, languid, and feminine,
her breasts sway softly.

04:55 | permalink

Tue, 02 Aug 2005

Lightning's vicious crack
as it strikes deafeningly
so very nearby.

04:59 | permalink

Sun, 31 Jul 2005

Rolling Lettuce Chicken
The sweet crisp lettuce
surrounds a thick sweet sauce and
the tasty chicken.

written after visiting Chef Jia's,
my favorite Chinese food restaurant

04:55 | permalink

Thu, 14 Jul 2005

People walk so close
that any sudden move will
cause them to bump you.

written in New York City

04:55 | permalink

Tue, 12 Jul 2005

Homeless Woman
A small old woman,
face dirty and eyes distant,
singing to herself.

04:55 | permalink

Tue, 05 Jul 2005

Master Chef
The quick precision
of a master chef cutting
the tails off of shrimp.

04:57 | permalink

Mon, 04 Jul 2005

One Among Many
A new wave begins
its crashing sound, adding to
the ocean's white noise.

04:55 | permalink

Fri, 01 Jul 2005

A Luminous Cloud
A luminous cloud
juts into the sky, catching
all of the sun's rays.

04:57 | permalink

Flies Hovering above Carrion
The flies hover near
their prey, only eating when
they're alone and safe.

04:55 | permalink

Sat, 25 Jun 2005

Machine-made eclairs--
their sweetness is pure and bland
and it strikes at once.

04:55 | permalink

Wed, 22 Jun 2005

Human Odor
Rich, pungent, and sour,
the smell of human odor
in the hot summer.

04:55 | permalink

Sat, 18 Jun 2005

The fireflies flicker
on, off, dancing with the dark
and with each other.

04:57 | permalink

Country Road at Night
The streetlight's straight light
catches the curves and texture
of the country road.

04:55 | permalink

Thu, 16 Jun 2005

Squirrel IV
No more squirrel corpse--
only a tuft of fur, an
outline in the mud.

04:55 | permalink

Mon, 13 Jun 2005

Squirrel III
Now the dead squirrel
has holes eaten in his chest--
grey fur, black nothing.

04:55 | permalink

Sun, 12 Jun 2005

The air is solid,
its humid weight slowing
all except the cars.

04:57 | permalink

Fri, 10 Jun 2005

Squirrel II
The same dead squirrel
on the city street, now his
fur matted by rain.

04:55 | permalink

Wed, 08 Jun 2005

Squirrel on the road,
upside down, dead, mouth agape,
one paw curving in.

04:55 | permalink

Sun, 05 Jun 2005

Sunset IX
Green has no business
in the sunset. There! It hides
by yellow and blue.

04:57 | permalink

Sun, 29 May 2005

Slip and Slide
Naked and sliding
on the slick plastic runway,
with soap up my butt.

04:55 | permalink

Wed, 18 May 2005

Comely white flowers
hiding behind a black fence
so I can't smell them.

04:55 | permalink

Sat, 07 May 2005

Life Goes On
Near the house of the
war-mongering commander,
the flowers still bloom.

04:55 | permalink

Wed, 27 Apr 2005

Brazen spring flowers,
their nectar bribing insects
who carry their seed.

04:55 | permalink

Thu, 31 Mar 2005

Haiku VI
Observe the beauty
'til you can write a haiku
and then you are done.

05:55 | permalink

Fri, 11 Mar 2005

The gentle firm force
of the plane's rising speed, then
the ground falls away.

05:55 | permalink

Sun, 27 Feb 2005

The Gates
Bubbly and disarmed,
New Yorkers wander the Gates,
tourists near their homes.

05:55 | permalink

Mon, 07 Feb 2005

Cold yellow sunrise
after a long strange night of
vicious partying.

05:55 | permalink

Mon, 24 Jan 2005

Two Feet
The whole world just stops
as everyone marvels at
two feet of new snow.

05:55 | permalink

Thu, 20 Jan 2005

Fresh-Falling Snow
The fresh-falling snow
dawdles in the air and then
sparkles on the ground.

05:55 | permalink

Fri, 14 Jan 2005

The World Is Hidden
From the bridge I see
only the unbroken grey
of the opaque fog.

05:55 | permalink

Sat, 08 Jan 2005

Three Points
The boys' three point shots
arc languidly through the air,
then swish...or hit rim.

05:55 | permalink

Sat, 01 Jan 2005

New Year's Morning
New Year's morning,
sun rising over the Charles,
the dawn's old quiet.

13:00 | permalink

November 2005
Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat

Powered by blosxom.

[Best Of Haiku] [Recent Haiku] [Home]